The Northeast's Premier Mini Sprint Series
About Mini Sprints
News & Notes
Race Results
Marketing Partners
Member Info
Track Info
Contact Us

VanDusen Flies to Victory at Afton

After loosing out to Mother Nature on three previous attempts, CNYMS and The New Afton Speedway found perfect weather and great track conditions this past Friday night. All of this worked out very well for Jeff “The Jet” VanDusen who had a weekend off from his grueling 360 sprint schedule on the ESS tour.

Driving the Jamie Kiser owned number 18 Mini Sprinter, VanDusen picked up a heat win after missing Hot Laps putting him into the redraw which proved perfect getting the pole position for the “A” Main event. To his outside was young Chris VanBuren making only his second start of the season. The front row set a blistering pace around the smooth 1/3 mile oval with points leader Don Harvey in hot pursuit.

Non stop action was all over the track staying green until the only caution of the night flew on lap 13 for the Dale Beach machine which went up in smoke. This tightened the entire field and settled the lap cars into position as well. The top five were VanDusen, Harvey, VanBuren, Fink, & Phillips with Broderick and Wood making charges through the filed now right behind.

When the green flew things got shuffled as a slow leaders pace caught a few off guard stacking the mid pack a bit. VanBuren got shuffled back as well as Phillips making for a high flying top five for the remaining laps. As the leaders looked at the one to go white, Harvey pulled under VanDusen and took the lead into turn 1. With a nice cross over move back off turn 2 they races side by side into the last set of corners. At the line it was VanDusen by less than a half car length with Fink only 2 cars back with Wood and Broderick all under a blanket.

Track Promoters Pat & Janet Jordan commented “That was a show that every fan should like!” The fans will be treated to the Winged Warriors in a $1000.00 to Win affair on Tuesday August 15th for the make up of the Summer Slam 2. The Speedway is located just off Interstate 88 at exit 7. For more information about the upcoming events at The New Afton Speedway, call the speedway office at (607) 657-8018 or checkout the website at

Picking up the Broderick Motorsports $50.00 Hard Charger award was Rich Wood Jr., Jeff VanDusen picks up the $25.00 Dry Wash N Guard Waterless Car wash awards, Chris VanBuren picks up the Ultimate Wings $25.00 certificate and Spectro Oils award went to Fred Hoffman.

CNYMS thanks all of their marketing partners for making this series the premier mini sprint organization in the Northeast. A-Verdi Storage Containers, Suzuki Motors of America and Jack Stones Suzuki, Hoffman Home Transport, Ultimate Wings, Haskell Motorsports, Scott VanAtter and Waterless Car Wash, Team 22 Racing, & Mike Emhof Motorsports, Inc.

“A”-Main: 18-VanDusen, 44-Harvey, 21-J. Fink, 6w-Wood, 5-Broderick, 99-M. Kiser, 4-VanBuren, 13H-F. Hoffman, 77H-G. Hoffman, 16-Phillips, 1-Zych, 29K-A. Kiser, 52L-Lampron, 211-Gaurino, 121-D. Fink, 30-Goodrich, 36-J. Kiser, 90H-Tanner, 25-Beach, 14-Burkert, 27T-Tomlinson, P13-Sehn, 70-Donovan,
Heat Winners: 21-J. Fink, 77H-G. Hoffman, 18-VanDusen:

Stay current with all of the news and notes for CNYMS by logging onto

Visit A-Verdi Storage Containers online.
Bicknell Race Products
American Suzuki Motor Corporation
In association with Stones Snow Sleds Sodus NY
Dennis Fink Trucking
Visit Mike Emhof Motorsports Sprint car parts
Haskell Motorsports
Broderick Motorsports
Mickeys Racing Videos
sprint41 for all of your sprint car questions
Morlock Media and Photographic