The Northeast's Premier Mini Sprint Series
About Mini Sprints
News & Notes
Race Results
Marketing Partners
Member Info
Track Info
Contact Us

Don Harvey Honored as CNYMS Champion at Awards Banquet

Story by Rich Vleck:Utica, NY- It was the night that Don Harvey had looked to have since he entered CNYMS. Thanks to the season he’s always looked for, he would be crowned champion at the year-end banquet.

Harvey, who won eight races this season and had the point lead for the entire season, had a perfect year and was relieved to finally have the opportunity to reap the rewards of being the 2006 CNYMS Champion.

A packed-house was on hand for the 17th Annual Awards Banquet held at the Historic Hotel Utica as one of the best appearing banquet halls for the best appearing car.

Harvey picked up $1,700 Cash for the championship, along with contingency awards valued at $1,840, brining his championship total to $3,540. Harvey also picked up a 5-foot trophy, along with a championship jacket.

“This has been a great year, it really has,” Harvey noted in his acceptance speech. “It’s great running with these guys and they are great to be around in the pits.”

The Milford, NY resident also was honored for having the sharpest-looking car in the pit area. His No. 44 was voted on as the “Best Appearing Car” for 2006. This is not the first time he has picked up this award as he has dominated this honor like he dominated the 2006 CNYMS tour.

Shane Rosson, who built Kawasaki Engines for Harvey this season, was honored as Motor Builder of the Year. This was the first time that Harvey has not had motor problems in a CNYMS season.

Lori Wallace, Don’s Fiancé, was presented as the Owner of the Year, as she has taken ownership of the No. 44 over the last few years.

Other special awards on the night included the Rookie of the Year, along with the Most-Improved Driver Award. Both of these went to Joe Burkert, who finished 7th in points this season.

James Tomlinson had a tough season, especially in the second-half of the year. Because of his misfortune, he was voted as the Hard Luck of the Year Recipient.

Mike Kiser was the 2005 CNYMS Champion, but this year had to settle for runner-up in the points. Kiser handed over the Richie Evans Traveling Trophy, which is held by each CNYMS driver for a year. Kiser hopes to get that trophy back in his possession after next season.

Bubba Broderick was third in points in his first full CNYMS season. Broderick, along with everyone else in the top-five has announced plans to return in a quest for the championship in 2007. Jared Fink and Art Kiser were the other two in the top-five.

The top-15 in driver points, along with the top-5 in owner points, collected on the point funds structured for them in 2006. More than $7,500 in cash was paid out, coupled with $11,000 worth in contingencies, bringing the year total to $18,526!

The 2006 CNYMS Banquet was supported by fine companies such as tour sponsor A-Verdi Storage Containers, Hoffman’s Home Transport, Broderick Motorsports, Team 22 Racing, Stone’s Snow Sled, Suzuki Motors of America, Leaf Racewear, Bicknell Racing Products, Bishop Race Components, Pro Shocks, Ultimate Wings, Haskell Motorsports, Weld Racing, Mike Emhof Motorsports, Bect Chemical, Dri Wash ‘n’ Guard Waterless Car Wash, Ultra Shield Race Products, Kiezer Aluminum Wheels, Rebel Gears, Spectro Oils of America, M&W Aluminum Products, Top Fligh Wings, Morlock Media and Photographic LLC, MRE Productions and CNYMS, Inc.

At the end of the banquet, CNYMS Owner Mike Emhof announced that the series was leaning towards using 1000cc motors in 2008, and announcing weight penalties for those that did not have them in 2007. Also announced was the plan to have all restarts take place on the backstretch next season.

Scheduling is already coming together for next year for CNYMS, with tracks such as Albany-Saratoga, Devil’s Bowl, Woodhull and Thunder Mountain already scheduled for what should be a very exciting season for CNYMS. For more information, log onto

2006 A-Verdi Storage Containers Central New York Mini Sprint Banquet Totals.
-Totals include cash and contingencies
1. Don Harvey $3,540
2. Mike Kiser $1,745
3. Bubba Broderick $1,265
4. Jared Fink $990
5. Art Kiser $940
6. Greg Hoffman $760
7. Joe Burkert $1,085
8. Johnny Guarino $825
9. Jerry Sehn $745
10. Fred Hoffman $665
11. Henry Tanner $615
12. James Tomlinson $626

Visit A-Verdi Storage Containers online.
Bicknell Race Products
American Suzuki Motor Corporation
In association with Stones Snow Sleds Sodus NY
Dennis Fink Trucking
Visit Mike Emhof Motorsports Sprint car parts
Haskell Motorsports
Broderick Motorsports
Mickeys Racing Videos
sprint41 for all of your sprint car questions
Morlock Media and Photographic